Temporary Marriages: The 2 Year Test

Mexico City is sick of divorce. They’ve proposed a solution to help reduce divorce. Try your spouse out for 2 years. Not satisfied? No problem. After 2 years you’ll have a choice, commit to your marriage for good or walk away like it never happened.

Click here to read the story. 

You can probably guess my opinion on this. RIDICULOUS! A marriage entered into with a temporary status is no marriage at all. Courtship exists for a reason. When the marriage vows are exchanged the ‘figure it out’ period is over. You are committed for life, not just two years.

If given a 2 year out, many of us would easily be able to reason ourselves out of our initial commitment. I wonder what I would do. Casey and I are approaching our 2 year anniversary in March. What if in March we were given a chance to walk away, no questions asked? Would we jump at the opportunity to avoid renewing our ‘contract’ or excitedly commit to staying together for life?

Casey and I believe that marriage is for life and believe that God desires to use marriage in the good times and bad to refine us and draw us closer to Him. Because of that alone, I know Casey and I would without a doubt commit for life. But what if we didn’t hold such convictions? It’s been a difficult couple of years. Would we walk away?

Maybe you’re already past your 2 year anniversary. What if the terms would have been different? I don’t ask this to encourage us to question our marriages. I think many would say if they had been given an out at 2 years, they might have walked away, but I bet even more are thankful they didn’t have that choice because their intimacy and marriage has developed into something beyond anything they could have imagined two years into the journey.

What are your thoughts on the 2 year marriage contract? Do you think this would help decrease divorce?

About Shana Bresnahan

www.MyMarriageInMotion.com Interactive media evangelist at Vanderbilt University Medical Center that truly loves life, loves God and loves others. Wife to Casey. Owner of Minny. Aunt to 11. Advocate of transparency. (Opinions my own)
This entry was posted in Anniversary, Culture, God, Marriage, Wedding and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Temporary Marriages: The 2 Year Test

  1. Mandy says:

    After only two years, we were still very happy together. The relatively small problems we had were not too hard to deal with. I think we both would have gladly renewed the contract at that point. But looking back at the last twenty years, I think there were times when on or both of us might have considered an easy out, if there were such a thing. It’s not that we expect to be constantly happy every second of every day. But during difficult times it can seem as though there is no solution, and the prospect of being miserable forever leads to despair. Even so, there really is hope. Like anything else in life that is worth having, marriage requires work and commitment. If both partners are willing to make a good faith effort, it is possible to have a happy and satisfying relationship in the long term.

  2. Robyn Mckelvy says:

    After almost 24 years of marriage, I can truly say, I am JUST NOW figuring out what it takes to commit to one man, for one lifetime, means. Two years flies by so fast that you are just getting the hang of commitment, working to establish a home, and really knowing each other. I am so grateful that I didn’t have the out…in my ignorance, I might have taken it and missed out on maturing.

    • Robyn – I love your honesty and appreciate your wisdom. You know I always value your perspective and feel so blessed to have you in my life. Thankful you are sharing your wise words with my readers too!

  3. I totally agree. It’s completely ridiculous, and it feeds the idea that marriage is about your own personal happiness–if the other person isn’t making me happy, then it’s time to leave. Marriage is based on commitment, not happiness. Happiness only comes after the commitment anyway! It’s too bad people will miss out on real intimacy because they’re settling for something far less.

    Sheila from To Love, Honor and Vacuum!

Leave a Reply

