Piecing It Together

My 25 Things at 25 list requires me to complete 9 jigsaw puzzles. I LOVE completing jigsaw puzzles. When Casey and I first started dating I had him work on my puzzles with me. I have since learned that he is much better at striking conversation while he watches me complete the puzzle. I don’t know why he doesn’t like jigsaw puzzles. Of course he is kind of color-blind.

I started my first jigsaw puzzle since making my list and thought I might give you some advice on how to best complete a jigsaw puzzle, should you be a newbie.

1) Buy your puzzle at a garage sale or thrift store, but never buy one that’s been opened.

Bought at Thrift Smart

2) Spread puzzle pieces out on a flat surface (preferably one that’s a contrasting color) in a place with good light.

3) Flip pieces over so all are face up

3.5) As you’re flipping pieces over, separate your edge pieces into a separate pile.

4) Complete the edge of the puzzle.

5) Separate remaining pieces into piles based on similar color/pattern.

6) Complete as many connections in one pile as you can before moving on the next.

You know you're jealous of my comfy puzzle completing clothes.

7) Place into the center of the puzzle, using the picture as your guide.

8) Fill in the missing pieces.

Voila!

I completed this puzzle in my personal record of 3 hours over 3 days 🙂

What do you do for fun to help relieve stress?

About Shana Bresnahan

www.MyMarriageInMotion.com Interactive media evangelist at Vanderbilt University Medical Center that truly loves life, loves God and loves others. Wife to Casey. Owner of Minny. Aunt to 11. Advocate of transparency. (Opinions my own)
This entry was posted in 25 Things, Marriage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

