Casey Surprises Me with a Getaway

I’m sitting in Chicago’s Midway airport, waiting on the next flight to Nashville. Hoping that we make it off the standby list and onto the boarding list. This is one of the few times that I am not upset and am actually quite pleased to be waiting. For the 3rd time since we’ve been married, Casey and I were bumped for our flight and received generous vouchers for future flights. Not to mention, now I have time to update you all on what we’ve been up to this past weekend.

View from the 96th Floor

On Sunday evening last week, Casey handed me a sheet of paper with a satellite map. “We have reservations here. Friday at 8:00pm.” If you had seen the map that I was looking at, you would have been just as confused. The long white lines on the map had me confused and guessing things like Arrington Vineyards. Finally, Casey gives me a clue. “Do those lines look like runways or maybe terminals?” Well that makes sense, but why are we eating at the airport? “Pack for 3 nights” he said. You can imagine my excitement. My mind immediately started racing. Where are we going? What we will do? Does he have reservations for Minny at doggy daycare? How am I going to get everything done before Friday? How did he plan this without me knowing?

On the Navy Pier Ferris Wheel

He had done it. Really surprised me. When packing on Friday he finally told me where we were headed. Just where I had hoped: Chicago! I’ve talked about wanting to spend a weekend here for a while. I couldn’t believe that we were actually going, and staying right on the Magnificent Mile too!

The excitement and joy was oozing out of Casey as the surprises unfolded. He could barely contain himself. I have to admit, the last minute knowledge of a trip like this definitely had me stressed out, but it was well worth it. In just a few days we enjoyed some delicious food (especially pizza), fabulous shopping, site seeing, spectacular views and of course, managed to catch a Chicago Cubs baseball game. Despite all the serious walking, I mean 5+ hours in a day walking, we managed to keep our energy up and see almost everything you would want to on your first trip to Chicago.

Enjoying Our Quality Time

Although for the most part, we had a really great time and got along well, I think I sometimes forget that when you go on vacation all the crap from home comes with you, whether you pack it or not. There were disagreements over directions (it doesn’t get much more typical than that), bossiness and my personal favorite, hand-holding. I don’t think I’ve ever met a couple that struggles to hold hands as much as us. Apparently I try to control Casey when we hold hands which makes him resist my controlling which makes me mad which turns it into a ‘let’s just not hold hands’ kind of outing. I honestly think that’s the best option for now. I’ll let you know if we go back to holding hands anytime soon.

He ate pizza 4x in a row.
I walked 1 mile in these heels.

_______________________________________________________________

Special thanks to all of our friends and family that helped Casey keep the trip a surprise, and gave us such great recommendations for our time here. We’re already talking about our next trip to Chicago and since Southwest was kind enough to bump us, it might not be too far away.

P.S. Mark one place off #25 on the 25 things list.

About Shana Bresnahan

www.MyMarriageInMotion.com Interactive media evangelist at Vanderbilt University Medical Center that truly loves life, loves God and loves others. Wife to Casey. Owner of Minny. Aunt to 11. Advocate of transparency. (Opinions my own)
This entry was posted in 25 Things, Marriage, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Casey Surprises Me with a Getaway

  1. Pingback: A Shared Journal for a Shared Journey | My Marriage in Motion

Leave a Reply

