Updating the Bedroom

Ever since Casey and I moved into our house, I’ve been talking about painting our bedroom. I’ve brought home sample after sample trying to find the right color, and put the bug in Casey’s ear many times that I was ready to paint. Meanwhile, Casey was busy painting the garage and even his classroom and slyly avoiding any walls in the house.

Our Bedroom Before

Our Bedroom Before

Working Hard!

We recently made the decision to send our old bedroom furniture off to get refinished.

Trimming Away

Trimming Away

(Side note: It was much cheaper than buying new furniture. Beautiful. Only took 3 days. Let me know if you want the guy’s info.) Since the furniture was out of the room, I grasped the opportunity, picked out a paint color, bought supplies, and lined up a day to paint. Despite the best of plans, we didn’t get started painting until around 6 at night. With Casey on trim and me armed with the roller, we had a good system, or so we thought.

When Casey’s bedtime (9pm) rolled around, I made it clear that I was going to continue to paint until the job was done (in true Shana fashion). A loving and sacrificial husband, he stayed up way past his bedtime to help me finish. Praise God because I needed the help. That moment took away all the frustration I had acquired while I was not-so-patiently waiting on paint day.

Paint Before & After

Paint Before & After

The New Furniture

Unfortunately, our painting story didn’t end on that note. We came home Monday afternoon to a unpainted stripe around the ceiling, paint on the baseboards, missed spots on the wall… the result of painting at night, quickly with crappy painter’s tape. After a long day for both of us, it wasn’t the most pleasant surprise, but we pushed through and finished the job and the reward was great! Finally! A painted bedroom with pretty furniture! Not to mention I’m 4 walls closer to crossing off one of my 25 things off the list. Did I mention I’m reconsidering my 16 walls in 1 year commitment?

Color changes everything.

Color changes everything.

About Shana Bresnahan

www.MyMarriageInMotion.com Interactive media evangelist at Vanderbilt University Medical Center that truly loves life, loves God and loves others. Wife to Casey. Owner of Minny. Aunt to 11. Advocate of transparency. (Opinions my own)
This entry was posted in 25 Things, Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

