Tithe Talk

My husband is a generous man. I am generous with my time, but not as easily generous with my money. God has used Casey to help me release my grip on my wallet and discover the joy of giving.

When Casey and I first got married, the decision to tithe was an easy one. Deciding where the money should go was not as simple, especially since Casey brought giving commitments into the marriage. Although I wanted him to immediately put those on the table for evaluation and renegotiation, we ended up putting off the conversation until Casey was ready, which happened to be a couple weeks ago. Yes, it took over a year for him to really be ready to discuss tithing and put his obligations on the table.

Little did he know that I wasn’t trying to stop giving to his friend’s ministries. I just wanted him to show that he was willing to start fresh as husband and wife and make that decision as a couple. After a year of this conversation lingering over our heads, the growth he and I have experienced over the last year became evident through the respectful and productive conversation that took place.

We easily agreed upon our monthly commitments, our monthly church giving and a bucket of money for more spontaneous giving. The best part? No more frustration around the elephant in the room.

The most important conversations can be the hardest to have, and the hardest to wait on. But I’m learning that if you rush (push) into the conversation before one of the parties is ready, you don’t solve anything and often, the wait gets longer and much much harder.

About Shana Bresnahan

www.MyMarriageInMotion.com Interactive media evangelist at Vanderbilt University Medical Center that truly loves life, loves God and loves others. Wife to Casey. Owner of Minny. Aunt to 11. Advocate of transparency. (Opinions my own)
This entry was posted in God, Marriage, Money and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

