Quarter of a Century

On July 16th 2011 I turned a quarter of a century old. 25 years ago my mom went into labor at my sister’s funeral and the next morning around 9:30, I left the comfort of my mother’s womb for this broken world.

Even if he did launch cake mix all over the kitchen, Casey's cake was delicious!

I feel like I’ve been looking forward to 25 for a long time. 25 is the age where people finally start to take you seriously, at least most people. However, this is not where I pictured myself at this age.

Like many young girls, I grew up thinking about my wedding day and one day becoming a wife. Unlike many, I wanted to put settling down off until I was closer to 30 and had “really lived.” At one point in my life I knew I would still be in school at 25, getting my masters or PhD, but that all changed as I approached college graduation. I decided I was ready to be done with the studies for a while and wanted to live the city life. I pictured myself as a vibrant marketing professional in a city like Atlanta, but traveling the world for work.

Now I’m here. 25. Married. Dog owner. Marketing professional. Living in the suburbs. No more dreaming about where I’ll be when I’m 25. Even though my vision didn’t become a reality, I wouldn’t trade where I am today for anything. No matter how much satisfaction I get out of planning things, God seems to always choose my plans over His, and after 25 years, I can honestly say I’m okay with that.

Casey's family tradition is to bite into the cake 🙂

So here’s to the next quarter of a century. This time I’m going to the leave planning to the Big Guy upstairs and enjoy my extra free time!

What was 25 like for you? Not here yet? Where do you want to be at 25?

About Shana Bresnahan

www.MyMarriageInMotion.com Interactive media evangelist at Vanderbilt University Medical Center that truly loves life, loves God and loves others. Wife to Casey. Owner of Minny. Aunt to 11. Advocate of transparency. (Opinions my own)
This entry was posted in Culture, God, Marriage and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quarter of a Century

  1. Pingback: 25 Things at 25 | My Marriage in Motion

Leave a Reply

