The Gift of Missing Him

When Casey and I are separated he always emphasizes the “gift of missing him.” To be honest, usually he isn’t gone long enough for me to miss him so I just see it as the gift of alone time. When I found out casey was going to be gone for a week, I began really looking forward to the alone time.

– No need to make a good dinner.
– Not having to share the bed.
– Watching whatever I want on TV.
– Staying up late without feeling guilty.
– Knocking out my to do list.

After two days of enjoying my new found freedom, I was bored and lonely, truly missing Casey for the first time since we’ve been married. I was sitting on the couch thinking “Why does Casey call this the gift of missing him? What the heck kind of a gift is this?” After 5 more days of missing my husband, I realized why it is a gift to miss him. The reunion in North Dakota was a sweet one. My affections for Casey had grown so much in just one week. I guess what they say is true. Absence really does make the heart grow fonder, at least it did this time.

Have you discovered the gift of missing your spouse yet? I encourage you all to plan some time apart to look for it.

About Shana Bresnahan

www.MyMarriageInMotion.com Interactive media evangelist at Vanderbilt University Medical Center that truly loves life, loves God and loves others. Wife to Casey. Owner of Minny. Aunt to 11. Advocate of transparency. (Opinions my own)
This entry was posted in Marriage, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Gift of Missing Him

  1. Pingback: Post-It Love Notes | My Marriage in Motion

  2. Robyn Mckelvy says:

    I miss Ray when he goes to work. Something happens and I want to tell Ray. God is so good to give us such wonderful gifts in many ways.

Leave a Reply

