Days Like This Part II

I really appreciate all of the comments and prayers after my last blog post, and I’m glad many of your reminded me that I left you all hanging. Well good news. Casey and I reconnected and closed Sunday’s vignette. How’d we resolve our conflict you say? Well since the slammed doors and silence didn’t do it, we tried a different route.

While I cooled off upstairs (and wrote a blog post :)), Casey took time to journal and process through his anger. You know, I’m finding that sometimes it really pays off to give Casey his space, no matter how much I want to finish the argument. After Casey had time to process, he opened the slammed door and came upstairs to talk. My mom asked in her comment on my last post, “who will open the door?” Casey did. He always does. He’s much better at reengaging than I am, and that’s due to pure pride on my part.

Nothing profound came of the conversation. Just expression of true feelings, genuine apology and graceful forgiveness (on both ends). It’s amazing how a week long funk can take just a few minutes to resolve when we’re honest about our feelings. When we listen with our hearts and not our minds. When I truly believe he has my best interest at heart.

So did we come to some profound resolution? No. But we got through it. We persevered. We stayed in the puddle. We fought for our marriage. Now that may seem a little extreme for such a small disagreement, but honestly, that’s what it’s all about. One resolution at a time because if we surrender in the small battles, we’ll never win the war.

About Shana Bresnahan

www.MyMarriageInMotion.com Interactive media evangelist at Vanderbilt University Medical Center that truly loves life, loves God and loves others. Wife to Casey. Owner of Minny. Aunt to 11. Advocate of transparency. (Opinions my own)
This entry was posted in Marriage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Days Like This Part II

  1. G. Michael Graham says:

    Hello Casey and Shana,
    I’ve enjoyed reading these entries. These trials and tribulations make us stronger. Marriage is a lot of work but if there are two people I know that will make it happen, they are Casey and Shana.

    God Bless,

    G. Michael Graham

  2. jesi christiansen says:

    Shana, I really appreciate your honesty and I feel like I’m learning so much about marriage before I even get there. So thankful that you’re sharing with all of us what God is teaching you.

    • Jesi – Your comment has divine timing. Casey and I were just talking about the purpose of the blog and honesty about marriage was one of them. Thanks for the encouragement friend!

Leave a Reply

