Sleepless in Shepherdsville

My husband can officially sleep through anything. This past weekend we stayed at my mom’s place for Easter. She doesn’t have an extra bed so Casey and I stayed on the air mattress. That’s usually not a problem; however, there were extreme conditions this past Friday night. Severe thunderstorms were pounding the area all through the night. Did I mention my mom lives in a trailer? It’s a very nice trailer, but still a small metal box. In addition, the windows were open to keep us cool. Crash! Bang! I thought the place was going to cave in. On top of that, we had decided to bring Minny. Unfortunately Minny is terrified of storms. She is usually on the floor in her bed, and Casey and I are well above her in ours. Remember where we are sleeping? On an air mattress. On the floor. Between the rain on the metal house, the roar of the thunder and Minny trying to make herself comfortable on the full size air mattress with Casey and me as my butt sank to the floor, I was lucky to get any sleep. My husband on the other hand, was sound asleep through all of it. I knew he could fall asleep almost anywhere, but sleeping through this event proved he has been blessed with superhuman sleeping ability. Even more amazing… these words truly came out of Casey’s mouth the next morning. “I slept really well last night. I don’t know why, but I think air mattresses are so comfortable.” WHAT?! Nobody thinks air mattresses are so comfortable. Are all men blessed with the gift of sound sleeping or is Casey just a lucky one? What will I do when we have kids? I mean, how loud can a baby monitor really get?

About Shana Bresnahan

www.MyMarriageInMotion.com Interactive media evangelist at Vanderbilt University Medical Center that truly loves life, loves God and loves others. Wife to Casey. Owner of Minny. Aunt to 11. Advocate of transparency. (Opinions my own)
This entry was posted in Marriage, Pets, Sleep, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sleepless in Shepherdsville

  1. @Lisa – that definitely comes in handy for protection. When Minny growls at night, I can only wake Casey up enough to get him to mumble “Minny bed.” I’m sure Jimmy will eventually get used to your restlessness.

  2. Lisa says:

    Jimmy is the lightest sleeper EVER! He wakes up by the slightest noise or movement…This comes in handy if someone ever breaks in and robs us but it’s a problem for us because I toss and turn at night and it often wakes up my boo đŸ™‚

  3. I’m predicting that a baby monitor won’t be loud enough to wake him, anyway.

Leave a Reply

