Celebrating 365

I am so thankful that Casey and I waited to take our honeymoon. We truly enjoyed each other’s company in Costa Rica, which I can’t say would have been true had we taken this trip right after the wedding. Not to mention, we were also able to celebrate 365 days of wedded bliss or maybe just celebrate surviving our 1st 365 days of marriage. Either way, it was a blast! I was able to get up close and personal with wild monkeys and wake up at the crack of dawn to their howls, making my way on the patio like I was part of the troop. Thankfully, Casey was able to tolerate my monkey antics. He even said he enjoyed watching me get so giddy.

Monkey chewing stick in tree.

My fave little guy - just hanging around.

I must say I was pretty nervous about this trip. Take 1 on-the-go adventurer (me) + 1 poolside relaxer (Casey). Stick them in a foreign land and wrap it all up with a 4 hour drive to the hotel in a rental car. It’s clearly a recipe for disaster, but somehow it all seemed to work out. I even learned a few tidbits along the way.

  • The scenic route is always better.
  • Relaxing on the beach is always more fun together.
Days on the beach are always better with two.

Beach days are always better with company.

  • Puking while snorkeling is quite possibly as gross as it gets.
  • I’m more likely to talk my way out of a ticket in Costa Rica than America.
  • A monkey won’t pass as a child on a plane. [I seriously contemplated the possibility.]

The main thing I learned from this trip was that Casey and I have really grown a lot in a mere 365 days thanks to the refining fire of marriage. And yes, fire burns. More to come on that later.

About Shana Bresnahan

www.MyMarriageInMotion.com Interactive media evangelist at Vanderbilt University Medical Center that truly loves life, loves God and loves others. Wife to Casey. Owner of Minny. Aunt to 11. Advocate of transparency. (Opinions my own)
This entry was posted in Anniversary, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Celebrating 365

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Marriage Blog of 2011 | My Marriage in Motion

  2. Susan says:

    Hi Shana,
    Very nicely written and beautiful photos. Costa Rica sounds gorgeous. Mike and I will be married 35 years in August so we are looking for a new vacation spot.

Leave a Reply

